Masters of the Lodge

Compiling the Masonic history of a Past Master of this lodge is a painstaking process and in most cases requires searches across several volumes of old minute books and records of committee meetings. Many are not as clear and complete as we would like and being handwritten in those olden days they can be difficult to decipher. We have been exceptionally fortunate in retaining a photograph album beginning with the first Master of the lodge in 1899 and running over the first few years. Some photos were titled and these have been included in the histories that are linked to the Master's name below.  Click on the name to access that Master's masonic history. Please note that this is an on-going work and that the rank of the Master is the highest rank recorded for him in the minutes books or his present rank if still a member. We wish you happy reading.

1899       R.A. Matthews, P.Prov.A.G.Sec.

1900       E.S. Sumner, P.Prov.G.W.

1901       W.0. Lewis, P.Prov.A.G.Purs.

1902       I. Guy, P.Prov.A.G.Purs.

1903       E.R.A. Matthews, P.Prov.G.W. (Middx)

1904       Hans Graff

1905       W.W. Lawrence, P.Prov.G.Purs.

1906       Russell Smith

1907       J. Teasdale, P.Prov.G.Swd.B.

1908       T.W. Wetton, P.Prov.G.Swd.B.

1909       Alfred Brown, P.Prov.G.Swd.B.

1910       E.T. Barton

1911       C.J. Boyce, P.Prov.G.Purs.

1912       H.J. Pratt, P.Prov.G.W.

1913       F. Smallwood, P.Prov.G.D.

1914       H. Sumner, P.Prov.G.D.

1915       A.J. Eggison, P.Prov.G.Swd.B.

1916       W.A. Dixon

1917       W.H. Gordon

1918       Benjamin Lovewell, P.Prov.A.G.D.C.

1919       A. Mountford, P.Prov.G.W.

1920       G.E. Mountford, P.Prov.G.Std.B.

1921       G.A. May, P.Prov.G.D.

1922       W.E. Ross, P.Prov.G.D.

1923       H.M. Jones, P.Prov.G.Purs.

1924       I. Harley Newman, P.Prov.Dep.G.Swd.B.

1925       A. Roberts

1926       E.C. Newman, P.A.G.D.C.,  P.Prov.G.W.

1927       F.W. Roberts, P.Prov.A.G.Std.B.

1928       T. Middleton, P.Prov.G.Swd.B.

1929       F.A. Brockington, P.Prov.A.G.D.C.

1930       C. Hatton Dagnail, P.Prov.G.Std.B.

1931       C. Snowball, P.Prov.G.W.

1932       W. Follis Quinton

1933       C.H. Dennis

1934       A.W.R. Goldsworthy

1935       W.F. Hadley, P.Prov.A.G.Purs.

1936       B.L. Shaw, P.Prov.G.D.

1937       J. Murgatroyd

1938       W.J. Mean, P.Prov.A.G.D.C.

1939       T. Gower King, P.G.Std.B., P.Prov.G.W.

1940       Ashburton Dunning

1941       W.E. Smith, P.M. 5999, Prov.G.Swd.B.

1942       G.H. Thompson, P.Prov.G.D.

1943       E. Willetts, P.Prov.A.G.D.C.

1944       C.C.G. Cave, P.Prov.G.D.

1945       H.E. Rowley, P.Prov.G.D.

1946       D.L. Parsons, P.M.6000, P.Prov.G.D

1947       A.E. Coton, P.Prov.G.D.

1948       G.W. Parkes, P.Prov.G.D.

1949       A.C. Cope, P.Prov.G.D.

1950       S. Rowe, P.Prov.A.G.D.C.

1951       E. Duddleston

1952       J. Preston, P.Prov.Dep.G.Swd.B.

1953       R.T. Parkes, P.M.5998, Prov.A.G.Supt.Wks

1954       B.J. Shaw, P.Prov.A.G.D.C.

1955       L.G. Hale, P.M. 5877, P.Prov.G.W. (Worcs.)

1956       H. Holdsworth, C.M., P.Prov.S.G.W.

1957       T. Egerton, P.Prov.G.D.

1958       Harold Parkes

1959       Eric Bowes

1960       F. Hodgett

1961       H.W.G. Mills, P.Prov.S.G.W.

1962       H.E. Rowley, P.Prov.A.G.Reg.

1963       George Hornblower, P.Prov.A.G.Supt.Wks.

1964       H.W. Parkes, P.Prov.S.G.W.

1965       D.H. Broadhead, P.Prov.A.G.Supt.Wks.

1966       R.W.H. Mills, P.Prov.G.Supt.Wks.

1967       G.A. South

1968       J.W. Green, P.Prov.A.G.Reg.

1969       Alan W. Day, P.Prov.A.G.D.C.

1970       Hubert Banner Adkins, P.J.G.D., P.Prov.S.G.W.

1971       N.E. Stephenson, P.Prov.A.G.Reg.

1972       R.T. Poole, P.Prov.G.D., Prov.G.Reg. (Staffs)

1973       Alan J. Shuttleworth, P.Prov.S.G.D.

1974       Brian H. Holdsworth, P.Prov.S.G.W.

1975       N.J. Smith, P.Prov.G.Std.B.

1976       E.A. Skelding, P.Prov.A.G.D.C.

1977       J.E. Jones

1978       Keith G. Holdsworth, PAGDC

1979       T.H.J. Eastwood, P.Prov.J.G.D.

1980       William S. Green

1981       Alan Broadhead, P.Prov.A.G.Reg.

1982       J.A.F. Mills, P.Prov.A.G.D.C

1983       Jack Mills, P.Prov.S.G.W.

1984       Raymond T. Hancox, P.Prov.S.G.W.

1985       A.R. Beames, P.Prov.S.G D.

1986       Bernard Green, P.Prov.G.Supt.Wks.

1987       D.L. Griffiths

1988       David Edward Ellis, P.Prov.J.G.W.

1989       Anthony A. Colley, P.Prov.G.Reg

1990       Kenneth A. White

1991       David Francis Macey, Prov.G.M.

1992       John Thomas Ball, P.Prov.J.G.D.

1993       Thomas Stewart Wallace, P.Prov.G.Supt.Wks.

1994       Brian W. Price, PAGDC

1995       A. Smith, P.Prov.J.G.W.

1996       Jonathan Mills, P.Prov.J.G.W.

1997       Richard Gillis, P.Prov.G.Reg.

1998       Edward P. Rogers, P.Prov.G.Supt.Wks.

1999       Paul A. Lucas

2000       Gordon Law, P.Prov.G.Reg.

2001       David John Shiel, P.Prov.Asst.G.Reg.

2002       Joseph Reece, P.Prov.A.G.D.C.

2003       Frank Richard Benton, P.Prov.G.Supt.Wks.

2004       David Edge, P.Prov.G.Swd.B.

2005       Michael John Addison Perrott, P.Prov.J.G.W.

2006       Paul Frank Mason, P.Prov.G.Reg.

2007       Paul R. Anderson, P.Prov.Asst.G.Std.B.

2008       John Cullwick

2009       Keith G. Holdsworth, PAGDC

2010       Robert Allcock, P.Prov.J.G.D.

2011       Jonathan Mills, P.Prov.J.G.W.

2012       Brian H. Holdsworth, P.Prov.S.G.W.

2013       Raymond T. Hancox, P.Prov.S.G.W.

2014       F.G. Hughes, P.Prov.J.G.W.

2015       Philip Jerome Bush

2016       L. Robinson 

2017       Dr. Andrew David Hardie  

2018       Andrew John Irving

2019       Jason David Adderley

2020       John Anthony Ville